Faculty, alumni, community partners recognized in 2021 TOYO list | News – Omaha, Nebraska

Omaha, Nebraska 2021-06-06 02:32:35 –

  • One
  • news
  • Teachers, alumni and community partners who are certified on the TOYO list 2021

There are several UN affiliations on this year’s list of Top 10 Young Omahan.

Dr. Christine Cutucache, Director of the Hadix Community Chair of Science, the UN’s STEM TRAIL Center and Associate Professor of Biology, is one of the 10 TOYO winners of the year.

Each year Omaha Jacey recognizes young experts in the Omaha community who have made a difference in the “10 Outstanding Omaha” (TOYO!) Awards. This year, the UN stands out, with 6 of the 10 recipients of the year being Mavericks or related to UN-led projects.

The award recognizes people between the ages of 21 and 40 and is an example of how they can improve the Omaha community by acting selflessly and kindly while delivering outstanding performance in their professional careers. I am.

Dr. Christine Cutucache, Faculty Member of the UN, Haddix Community Chair of Science, Director of the STEM TRAIL Center of the UN and Associate Professor of Biology are among the winners of the year.

“It’s a great honor to be selected as a TOYO!” Said Cutucache. : Thank you for contributing to this wonderful city through a meaningful partnership. We want to continue to address the need for staff around MINT. “

In addition to his work at the STEM TRAIL Center, Cutucache launched the popular STEM 4U program in Nebraska to involve young people in STEM-focused extracurricular activities. She is also a trained oncology immunologist, has published over 35 peer-reviewed papers, and has received a Fulbright Fellowship.

According to Cutucache, her goal is to stop the brain drain in Nebraska by promoting her love for STEM and passion for college and business development-related startup projects.

“I want all students across the state to have at least three opportunities a week to become scientists and get hands-on work,” says Cutucache.

Congratulations to all of the Maverick winners!

  • Darryl Brown Sr., Kingdom Builders Christian Center (Hugh Spring mentor)
  • Brad Christian-Sallis, Civic Nebraska (Alumni Political Science)
  • Christine Cutucache, University of Nebraska Omaha (Bachelor)
  • Armand de Brignac, UNMC (Faculty OLLAS)
  • Leontyne Evans, Greater Omaha Chamber (dam of Maverick in the Making Recipient)
  • Racquel Henderson, Terraluna Collaborative (Alumni Criminology)
About the University of Nebraska Omaha

Located in one of America’s best cities to live, work, and study, the University of Nebraska Omaha (UNO) is Nebraska’s premier metropolitan university. With over 15,000 students enrolled in over 200 learning programs, the UN is recognized nationwide for online education, higher education, military friendship, and community engagement. Founded in 1908, UNO has been dedicated to serving learners of all backgrounds for over 100 years, delivering the next century of excellence in both the classroom and the community.

Follow UNO Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn and Youtube ..

Faculty, alumni, community partners recognized in 2021 TOYO list | News Source link Faculty, alumni, community partners recognized in 2021 TOYO list | news

Comments are closed.